[the_ad id="83613"]

Zerodha defeats Flipkart to win UPL 2024


Zerodha defeated Flipkart by 6 wickets to clinch the second edition of the Unicorn Premier League (UPL), held in Bengaluru.

The game started with Zerodha winning the toss and opting to bowl. The decision paid off with Flipkart getting restricted to a total of 88 runs in 11 overs. From Flipkart, Vishal was the leading scorer with 42 runs off 24 balls. Chasing the target, Zerodha finished the match in just 8.2 overs. Rajesh was the top scorer for Zerodha with 35 runs off 16 balls followed by Marvin and Ashith, who scored 22 and 19 runs, respectively.

Yashas Kartik from Pine Labs won the Orange Cap for the tournament for making the highest runs at 249 while Devesh from Meesho was named the Purple Cap winner for taking the highest number of wickets at 10 throughout the tournament. Tanzil from Zerodha bagged the Player of the Tournament award for overall contribution of 142 runs and 8 wickets.

Purple and Orange Cap winners received an electric bike from Bounce, the electric scooter manufacturer. The Player of the Tournament award, sponsored by the pre-owned car retail platform Spinny, rewarded the winner with a Hyundai Xcent car.

Razorpay secured the third spot in the tournament after defeating Meesho by 31 runs. Batting first, Razorpay posted a total of 89 runs in 11 overs. In response, Meesho managed to score just 58 runs.

The second edition of UPL kicked off on February 16, 2024. The tournament saw participation from India’s top unicorn startups such as Zerodha, Razorpay, boAt, Pine Labs, Groww, Flipkart, and several others. Probo and Pavilion sponsored the cricket tournament.

The finals match was followed by a closing ceremony which saw participation from several bigwigs of the startup ecosystem, including co-founder of Razorpay Shashank Kumar, Shradha Sharma of  YourStory, Keshav Dhakad from Flipkart, and others. 

Send Suggestions or Tips